Daily Archives: March 15, 2007

Faith Calls For Sacrifices

But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the LORD deal with me, be it ever so severely, if anything but death separates you and me.” (Ruth 1:16-17)

Running Away During Tough Times

Elimelech and his family wanted to escape the famine in the promised land. Famines may come in the places where God has kept you to test your dependence on Him. God is able to see you through such situations. But if you run away seeking security elsewhere, you are in for more troubles. Solving problems in our own strength can lead us to ungodly choices. Elimelech and the two sons died in the unchartered territory.The sons had married girls from unbelieving communities against the covenant agreement they had with God. When the women were left alone to make their decision the mother-in-law suggests that the girls return to their people and their gods. God’s people are not to tread upon unapproved territory and enter into unacceptable relationships.

Staying True To The Commitment

Ruth had the chance to return to her own people and to realign herself to her old faith. But she had made up her mind to trust the God of her husband’s family, the God of Israel. She found Him to be true though her husband’s family were dissenting from their covenant relationship. She decided to follow her new found faith no matter what. God honored her faith and we see her name appear in the family tree of Jesus.